ABOUT THIS COURSE
Is the course approved?
Yes, the course is approved by the Tennessee
Board of Dentistry. You will
receive 5 hours of continuing education credit for taking this
Who is eligible?
Applicants must be a registered dental assistant
in the State of Tennessee.
How is the course organized? The
course has a didactic, or classroom, portion and a "hands on" portion.
didactic portion will be provided online. After
you register and pay for the course, you will be able to "sign
in" and begin taking the online portion.
What is included in the "hands on" portion?
During the "hands on" portion, the didactic material will be
reviewed, a final examination will be administered, and
necessary documentation for certification will be collected.
Where is the "hands on" portion of the class held? The
"hands on" portion is held at various locations in the State.
Once you complete the online portion, you contact the instructor at
one of the locations to arrange a convenient time to meet.
Can I see the course before
Sure. Go to
"see a sample"
above. You can see how the course is organized and how easy it
is to use.
Who are the
instructors? The principle clinical
instructor for the didactic portion is Dr. William Johnson, a dental educator with 19 years of
teaching experience. The "hands on" portion
will be conducted by trained Dentedonline personnel.
How much does
the course cost?
Can I pay online? Yes,
you can pay with your credit card when you register, or within 14 days
of registering by going to "pay online" at the top of this
When do I have to Pay?
Please pay within 14 days after registering so we can hold your place
in the class. Sorry, if payment is not received, we will have to
offer the course to someone else.
What is your refund policy?
You will receive a full refund (minus a $25
processing fee) if you cancel at least 14 days before the
date of the "hands on" portion of the course.
If you cancel less than 14 days, you will receive a
do I register for the course? Simply go to
"register" at the top of this page.
Do I have to contact the Board of
Dentistry afterwards? Yes, but we
will provide you the necessary forms. There is a $15
registration fee which is not covered in the cost of the course.
What will I learn?
After completing this course, you
will be able to;
Adhere to Tennessee laws that pertain to nitrous oxide administration and
the physiological to the psychological aspects of pain,
the organization and function of the respiratory system,
the condition of a patient in each of the four stages of anesthesia,
the signs and symptoms of light, moderate, and deep analgesia,
the settings on the equipment used to administer nitrous oxide,
the physical and chemical properties of nitrous oxide,
the possible side effects of nitrous oxide analgesia,
Recognize signs that a patient is experiencing an
adverse reaction to nitrous oxide,
the procedure of induction and termination of nitrous oxide analgesia,
risks and potential hazards of long term exposure to nitrous oxide,
methods of reducing unnecessary exposure to nitrous oxide by dental staff,
the indications and contraindications for nitrous oxide analgesia.